Yummy, runny

The first batch of home-made yoghurt had thickened a bit after being left straining in the fridge all day long. It tastes delicious – cool, slightly creamy, slightly acid; refreshing and comforting at the same time.

However, it was still fairly runny: more for pouring than spooning. The local shop does sell milk powder (how could I have doubted it? one can find almost anything in this village) so I will abandon heroism and use the powder as a thickener next time.

I suppose it’s a semi-acceptable cheat. The live yoghurt I used as a starter for this batch has skimmed milk in the ingredients, anyway.

It must be a fair bit cheaper to make yoghurt than to buy it – a 500g pot costs at least a quid around here, whereas a pint of milk and a couple of spoons of milk powder would be only half that. Add in the cost of heating the milk first, and washing the muslin afterwards, and I suppose it might cost 60 pence at most.

Add to that the fact that I don’t have to buy the plastic pot the shop-bought yoghurt comes in, as I can use one of the many pots I have already. I expect I may tire of the washing up, especially the muslin, but it’s easy enough to make yoghurt.

How very smugly green and recession-proof I now feel.

~ by jobes on June 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
